Weather Related Disaster Declaration for Thumb Area Counties

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has approved a disaster declaration for Thumb area counties due to severe drought this summer.

The primary declaration is for Sanilac County, while farmers in Huron, Lapeer, Tuscola and Saint Claire are eligible for federal assistance under the Crop Insurance Program and others. There have also been other weather and climate hazards facing the state, such as late spring frosts, high winds and storm induced flooding.