Saginaw County Commission Fills Vacant Board Seat

The Saginaw County Board of Commissioners has Republican Tracey Slodowski to the seat vacated by James Theisen last month.

The unaninmous vote brings the board back to 11 members. Slodowski will represent the county’s District 5 seat, which encompasses the townships of Jonesfield, Lakefield, Richland, and Thomas until this November’s election. Since 2016, Slodowski has served as clerk in Lakefield Township- a seat she will vacate after her commission appointment – and began working as a deputy clerk in Jonesfield Township since 2018, as well as in St. Charles Township from 2020 through 21.

Slodowski will face three opponents in the August primary election, with the winner advancing as the Republican candidate in the November election. She says she hopes to bring both her leadership and budget oversight skills as a clerk to her new board role.